Satellite Internet .....any good ?

Digby's Internet problems and advice, regarding all aspects of life on the Internet..

Moderator: holitec

Postby Stu&Gill » 12 Dec 2016 17:54

Evening all

Shortly to move from our short term let in Peyia where we have Cyta Internet and a Mag 250 box

Our long term in Kissonerga has Satellite internet which I have no experience of and didn't even realise it existed. It is teamed with a box that just allows you to view Freeview channels only. Currently disconnected

Happy to purchase a Mag 254 and pay a subscription but am worried about signing up to satellite Internet rather than a landline based system

Do any of you have experience of the satellite internet?

I have googled it and it doesn't really come out well in the reviews

Supplier is Blue Net not that the supplier should make any difference

Any info gratefully accepted

Stuart
Stu&Gill

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Satellite Internet .....any good ?

Postby holitec » 12 Dec 2016 18:01

Hi,

BlueNet are not satellite internet providers, but wireless. There is a world of difference between the two systems.

You could always just pay for a month and see how it goes. We are currently offering a mag254 for €99 including a month premium channels, but why not just take your 250 with you, it should work fine if it worked with CYTA.

Regards

Digby
holitec
Own Section Moderator

Postby Stu&Gill » 12 Dec 2016 18:11

Thanks Digby

Should make it clear all the kit other than the TV's is the landlords, so I am starting from scratch

Not wishing to infringe any forum rules perhaps you would pm me as interested in your offer

No further on as no idea either what wireless internet is!

Stuart
Stu&Gill

Postby WilliamMorris » 12 Dec 2016 18:39

We are using bluenet and they are fine. Not as good as a landline though. The max download speed is 8 mbps.

They install a small dish that is pointed towards their transmitter, a bit like using a mobile. Installation cost 99euros.